Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

BEYOND “White Fragility”–Thanksgiving With THOSE Relatives

November 14 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST

Honest And Effective Conversations About Race from BEYOND The White Echo Chamber

About this event

It’s that time of year again—time to deal with THAT uncle. You know the one, the one who refuses to accept that he can’t call black people “colored” anymore and insists on saying “Wuhan Flu” instead of Covid 19. You’re already making plans with your gay brother to skip out before he downs his third Bourbon Old Fashioned. We’ll talk about how to be at the table with that guy and still eat your turkey in peace using the ideas of “field, capital, and habitus” from chapter 7 of DiAngelo’s book.

 

In her best selling book, “White Fragility“, Robin DiAngelo coined that phrase to describe many white people’s insistence that conversations about race be comfortable and non-threatening before they’re able to fully participate.

African American writer Nanette D. Massey of Buffalo presents her take on the book’s ideas in very practical terms. The goal is to leave audiences, black and white, with self-clarity and the ability to participate in conversations within their own personal spheres of influence with genuine confidence, humor, and humility. Whether you’re new to this kind of forum or you “marched in the sixties”, you’re promised an afternoon of candor and revelation.

 

$$ At will donation $$

 

3pm EST

2pm CST

1pm MST

12noon PST

Register here: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/beyond-white-fragility-thanksgiving-with-those-relatives-tickets-207574650367?aff=ebdssbdestsearch

Details

Date:
November 14
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm EST
Event Category:
View Event Website

Venue

Zoom

Organizer

Nanette D. Massey
Email:
nanettedmassey@gmail.com