Thu, 04 Mar 2021 05:53:39 +00001]}

WHITE FRAGILITY–BEYOND THE WHITE ECHO CHAMBER

8/8/2021 “Apologize Like You Mean It!”

I was inspired by this post on Facebook:

Recently I was corrected by a third party for an inadvertent slight. To the black co-worker I offended, I want to apologize directly and with a resolve to be more sensitive and aware. To mention the anti-Semitic bigotry I’ve experienced is to me a show of empathy. How can I avoid framing it as a shallow diversion?

Sometimes when white people try apologizing for a racial transgression they’ve made, they only make further psychic work for the aggrieved person. We’ll talk about saying sorry in a way that does not further center white people’s comfort.

$$ At-will donation $$

You’ll be prompted to establish an Eventbrite account with your own login [your email address] and password. Then you’ll receive an email from Eventbrite through which you’ll gain access to Sunday’s Zoom session.

The book White Fragility has become a cultural touchstone for our time. Most white people, though, report having no regular contact with non-white people and can only discuss race in an “echo chamber” of other white frames of reference.

Internet webinar technology to the rescue!

With black workshop facilitator Nanette D. Massey of Buffalo, N.Y., this is your chance to contextualize race from an unfiltered, real world experience rather than theory. With frankness and practicality, Massey’s goal is to leave audiences with self-clarity and the ability to participate in conversations within their own personal spheres of influence with genuine confidence, humor, and humility.

Sunday 8/8/2021

3:00 PM to 4 :30 PM Eastern

2:00 PM to 3:30 PM Central

1:00 PM to 2:30 PM Mountain

12 noon to 1:30PM Pacific

11:00 AM to 12:30 Alaska

Topic Sunday March 3rd: “Race and Faith”1052