*Sunday Webinars*

WHITE FRAGILITY BEYOND THE WHITE ECHO CHAMBER

6/20/2021 “United States vs. Black America”

(Last week was cancelled so we are repeating this topic.)

The American story holds that anyone who works hard and stays on the straight and narrow can expect all the promises of the American dream. Today we will take an unflinching look at several times in history where America has thrown its FULL WEIGHT and RESOURCES into hampering the advancement of black people using the stories of Marcus Garvey, Billie Holiday, James Meredith, MLK Jr., and Richard and Mildred Loving. This discussion is for those familiar with Robin DiAngelo’s book “White Fragility.”

Suggested donation $15

You’ll be prompted to establish an Eventbrite account with your own login and password. Then you’ll receive an email from Eventbrite through which you’ll gain access to Sunday’s Zoom session.

The book White Fragility has become a cultural touchstone for our time. Most white people, though, report having no regular contact with non-white people and can only discuss race in an “echo chamber” of other white frames of reference.

Internet webinar technology to the rescue!

With black workshop facilitator Nanette D. Massey of Buffalo, N.Y., this is your chance to contextualize race from an unfiltered, real world experience rather than theory. With frankness and practicality, Massey’s goal is to leave audiences with self-clarity and the ability to participate in conversations within their own personal spheres of influence with genuine confidence, humor, and humility.

Sunday 6/13/2021

3:00 PM to 4 :30 PM Eastern

2:00 PM to 3:30 PM Central

1:00 PM to 2:30 PM Mountain

12 noon to 1:30PM Pacific

11:00 AM to 12:30 Alaska

%d bloggers like this: